Awards shows (besides the Golden Globes) are usually pretty dull, but last night’s Emmys were so fun to watch!! It was funny, sweet, and the fashion was interesting (instead of safe). Here are my picks for standouts.

Favorite:

Sofia Vergara in Vera Wang

Worst:

Padma in Armani

This is also a terrible photo but the color just doesn’t work on her skin tone and something about the fit is all sorts of wrong!

Click through for more Emmys Red Carpet photos

Julianna Margulies also in Armani [Privé].  Also terrible… those plastic things look like weird growths on her chest. Sad

Kristen Wiig in Zac Posen.  I loved the fit & ombre-ness of this dress but the color… ick.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Pucci.  My immediate reaction was “huh?” but I like it.  It’s intricate, pretty, & SO her.  If anyone can pull it off its definitely her!

Ariel Winter in ??.  I can’t find out who made the dress… Anyway, while the pink & flowers are cute & youthful – hello boobs?! She’s 13 AND has bracelets, I would’ve appreciate a different neckline.

Kate Winslet in Elie Saab.  My other favorite! Simple and flattering.  Perfect.

Amy Poehler in Peter Som.  There’s just something about it I loved…

(all photos from nymag.com)

