Yesterday, I finally made it to the Alexander McQueen exhibit at the Met.  First of all, I have never ever spent that much time at the met! Secondly, it blew my mind! It was such an amazing exhibit.

Not only were the clothes breathtaking but the layout itself and the overall execution of the theme of each room was absolutely outstanding!! Each room had a completely different feel – from the lighting & music to the “head treatments” and construction that transported you to another place.  I think that added immeasurable value to the exhibit because honestly I kept thinking “well, I could’ve just gone to the store every season”, but this really allowed you to see his inspirations & understand the moods behind each collection.

Welcome to:

For more photos (all room shots courtesy of the Met, photography isn’t allowed & AS IF I was the only one there!), click through!

The rooms are separated into different types of Romanticism.  This is the 1st room you walk into, The Romantic Mind.

I was in awe of the seems of the jacket in the foreground – there were so many & they provided such a beautiful contour of a woman’s body.

There’s frequent mention of his tailoring training on Savile Row and one of my favorite quotes is where he states that in order to be able to deconstruct the clothing it is important to understand how to properly construct it.  I think this is often taken for granted and people assume that designers just know how to fit clothing – wrong – many designers have the creative ideas but lack a real understanding of putting together a garment.  (Look at me! I sound so pro – let’s be real, its not like I know anything about the nitty gritty of fashion but I do know how to appreciate well made clothing).

Romantic Gothic:

This room has a few videos showing above some of the garments such as a clip of the show where the spray painted white dress on the right was created.  There’s also some Philip Treacy hats – like the one of a Japanese village carved out of cork – the detailing is absurd!! Here’s an idea of it:

Then, Romantic Nationalism:

What I loved about these rooms and especially the Highland Rape collection (see my favorite dress/photo below – from the Met’s book on the exhibit), is that they show a completely different side of Lee (the man rather than the designer).

He was well educated and had passions outside of superficial fashion.  He tried to educate through his designs and shows; hoping to make people more aware of history, themselves, politics, and world issues.  I loved how he did so in VOSS, flipping the show on the viewers by starting off with a mirrored box so the audience saw themselves.

Romantic Primitivism:

I’m not sure how the Shipwreck & Oyster dresses to the right fit into the primitivism part but they are so gorgeous.  The Shipwreck dress was used in the backdrop video of the show which you can see on the Met’s website about the exhibit.

Here’s a closer look at the Oyster dress:

The last room, Romantic Naturalism, & his last fully executed show, Plato’s Atlantis.

The famous Armadillo shoes! At this point, I’m practically speechless.  If you can get to the exhibit before it closes on Sunday DO SO NOW! Its packed & slightly uncomfortable but I can only blame myself for that since I waited so long to go. It’s a unique experience that lets you into the mind of our generation’s (if not fashion in general) most influential, intelligent, and now legendary designer.

If you didn’t or won’t get to see it I hope you enjoyed this little taste of this “chillingly beautiful” (as the Met called it & I couldn’t agree more) exhibit.  The Met’s website is really amazing too so if you want more, check it out.

P.S. I think getting people into some of these things is an art in itself!

P.P.S. Next up: Daphne Guinness at The Museum at FIT opening September 16th. So excited! More info here.

