My blogging priorities are all out of whack… I’ve been meaning to blog about Pro Mujer since March, but since it requires more writing than photos I just keep putting it off.  But no more!

Pro Mujer is a international micro-finance organization that empowers Latin American women through loans, business training, and healthcare services.  I have been interested in micro-finance since college & actually looked for a job/volunteer opportunity with them upon graduating, but nothing was available.  So after finally finding myself more “settled”, I decided to join Pro Mujer’s Junior Committee late last year, but became active earlier this year as we planned for Pro Mujer’s 20th anniversary celebration (big thanks to all who came out & supported btw!)

I don’t want this to be the longest blog post ever but I think there’s so much to say about the organization… I’ve been amazed by the caliber of the staff, the people the organization attracts for support, and its overall impact.  Pro Mujer’s loans create a cycle of empowerment within the community allowing women to make something of themselves & better provide for their families.  I think what most attracted me was that Pro Mujer is completely well rounded rather than just focusing on handing out money and their work really focuses on the needs of each community.

So… now… I/we need a little help from you guys. Recently, one of my Junior Committee colleagues, Giovanna Loiotile, was picked by LVMH/Make Up For Ever as 1 of 5 NYC trendsetters.  The video is a “day in the life of” type of thing & it prominently features Pro Mujer (with a lil cameo by yours truly! haha) – which is super exciting because if she wins the video will be featured at Fashion Week in September, raising Pro Mujer’s visibility exponentially!

Here’s what you gotta do (it wont take more than 5 mins – promise!):

1) Please visit the “Make Up For Ever USA” Facebook page

2) “Like” Make Up For Ever’s page (click the “like” button on the top left corner”)

3) Scroll down the page to the “Giovanna Loiotile Make Up For Ever Trendsetter” video

4) “Like” the video

Voting ends tomorrow so please please vote ASAP! As cheesy as it sounds, your vote counts! Gracias

