Nicole got invited to Target’s GO International Collective launch at Opening Ceremony at the Ace Hotel last week and added me as her Plus One.

Our mentality was yay! we won’t have to go to Target like all the masses.  No other expectations… Hah! Since when are we so naive??

We both completely underestimated the cool factor of this “little” shindig… Ugh…

My outfit was a mess of layers: Urban Outfitters leopard dress, hooded gray zip up sweater under my short green D&G jacket, a striped scarf, runny eye makeup because there was a torrential downpour.  I do think I managed to fool everyone into thinking the makeup was edgey smokey eyes though! Or so I hope.

There was a marvelous open bar and yummy snacks.  I kept running into Marcus Samuelson (aka he was following me) and was very tempted to ask him if he catered the event though I doubt he would’ve appreciated that.  We also saw Patricia Field and the Man Repeller.  Actually, I don’t want to talk about it anymore.  For some reason Nicole & I decided that 9 o’clock was an appropriate time to leave while I think the general consensus was that the party began at 9… So we left; before all the celebs arrived, before Santigold’s performance, before Humberto Leon & Carol Lim arrived (I could’ve asked them for a job!).

We did still have fun though, and I was quite pleased with my purchase.  Until I got home and tried it on, that is.  This dress is a disaster on:

Rodarte for Target (photo from Target.com)

This one didn’t look exciting on the hanger, but clearly it would’ve been a much better option:

Thakoon for Target (photo from Target.com)

Oh well, you live and you learn.

