Brunch was so disappointing yesterday… We went to Le Comptoir on Grand St which looked super cute and we’d been meaning to go to for awhile.  Don’t go.  We got the “prix-fixe” which just meant unlimited bloody marys or mimosas and an additional couple dollars to the price of your dish – huh? Definitely not a deal but we ordered it just the same… The food took too long to come out, wasn’t great & was unbelievably overpriced.

So to liven up the day we went to the ghettoest Home Depot ever (sorry Bed-Stuy).  We went 1 stop too far though & decided to walk it instead of waiting for the other train.  And then we came across Dough!!

I was judged for wanting a doughnut after our disappointing yet filling brunch, but decided “judging be damned!” I want to try this! (I got my Best of New York issue of New York magazine last week so now I want to try everything that was featured).  They have so many fun/different choices: dulce de leche, cafe au lait, lemon poppyseed, hibiscus, cheesecake with graham crackers… Obviously I couldn’t decide and even though the dulce de leche was really tempting I went for:Chocolate with Cocoa Nibs.  It was really fresh – they continuously bake throughout the day – and very tasty.  I do wish it was a little more airy and though I’m not really a doughnut person I’m pretty sure I prefer the cakey variety as opposed to yeasty ones like these.  Still, it did make up for having to go to Home Depot.

